Call for Dissertation Papers

The IEEE/IFIP NOMS 2014 technical program will include Dissertation Paper sessions. The goal is to provide Ph.D. students in the area of Network and Service management the opportunity to present their Ph.D. work to the wider NOMS audience and to give out an award for the best work. The assessment criteria for the award include the relevance of the work for network and service management, the potential of the thesis results for future engineering practice, the novelty and contribution of the work, as well as the quality of publications and software produced as part of the thesis.
Submission Instructions
Authors who have completed, or are expected to complete, their thesis work in 2013 are invited to submit their work through the JEMS system.

The paper must be an extended abstract of the thesis, and the text structure close to that of a regular paper. It must be written in English, with at most 6 pages (excluding references), formatted according to the IEEE double column style. The URL to the thesis text, as well as the list of papers published in the course of the thesis work, must be included in the reference section. Only PDF submissions will be accepted. The authors of the thesis paper will be the (ex-)student and his/her supervisor(s). The dissertation chairs may request evidence of the defense and/or acceptance of the thesis.
Authors of accepted submissions are invited to present their paper in the Dissertation Paper sessions of NOMS 2014. The paper will be included in the NOMS 2014 proceedings and published in IEEE Xplore.
Important Dates

  • Submission: November 8th, 2013
  • Notification of acceptance: December 18th, 2013
  • Camera-ready version: January 15th, 2014

Dissertation Co-Chairs

  • Aldri Santos, Federal University of Parana, Brazil
  • Hong-Taek Ju, Keimyung University, Korea

TPC Members

  • Adarsh Sethi, University of Delaware, USA
  • Anna Sperotto, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Declan O'Sullivan, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Deep Medhi, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA
  • Edmundo Madeira, UNICAMP, Brazil
  • Filip De Turck, Ghent University – iMinds, Belgium
  • Go Hasegawa, Osaka University, Japan
  • Javier Baliosian, University of the Republic, Uruguay
  • Jiahai Yang, Tsinghua University, China
  • Jose-Marcos Nogueira, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
  • Juergen Schoenwaelder, Jacobs University Bremen, Germany
  • Mauro Tortonesi, University of Ferrara, Italy